NCH Homeopathic Service Awards

NCH honors outstanding homeopathic service with four distinct awards:

  • The Henry N. Williams Professional Service Award (established 1999)
  • The Martha Oelman Community Service Award (established 1999)
  • The Julian Winston NCH Service Award (established 2015)
  • The Peter Fisher Memorial Award (established 2019)

Each year, the NCH Awards Committee accepts and reviews nominations and selects award recipients. Award winners are announced during the annual Joint American Homeopathic Conference.


Award Descriptions

Henry N. Williams Professional Service Award (established 1999)

The Henry N. Williams Professional Service Award honors a homeopathic professional who has demonstrated service, leadership, and dedication to the homeopathic community. This could be in the form of clinical work, education, research, organizational leadership, or in the political arena.

The name for the award was chosen because Henry N. Williams exemplifies the aforementioned qualities. His wisdom and quiet presence left an indelible mark on homeopathy in this country. Henry ‘Hal’ Williams was one of the incorporators of the National Center for Homeopathy in 1974 and the Dean of the educational program for the National Center for Homeopathy from 1980 until 1986. After graduating from Columbia University in 1941, he began to learn homeopathy in 1950 at the American Foundation for Homeopathy’s postgraduate course, studying with Elizabeth Wright Hubbard and Julia Minerva Green. Hal was a founder of the Council on Homeopathic Education (now ACHENA, the Accreditation Commission on Homeopathic Education in North America), was active in the American Institute of Homeopathy, and served on the Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia Convention of the U.S. He retired in 1993 after 52 years of active practice in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. VIEW LIST OF PAST WINNERS

Martha Oelman Community Service Award (established 1999)

This award honors a person who, or organization that, has demonstrated unusual devotion to the practice and promotion of homeopathic treatment in any of these ways:

  • engaging in activities that encourage homeopathic education
  • engaging in activities that encourage homeopathic research
  • showing dedication to the organizations that represent homeopathy nationwide
  • volunteering time and talent
  • using his or her vocational or professional resources for the furtherance of homeopathy
  • cooperating with existing individuals and organizations
  • creating new ways of raising the public’s awareness
  • holding office in homeopathic organizations, either lay or professional

The award honors the memory of Martha Oelman, a dedicated and skillful advocate for homeopathy who served the community as NCH Media Liaison until her untimely death in 1997. She is remembered for her personal warmth, commitment, dedication and capabilities in all the tasks she undertook. Martha was thorough, accurate, and reserved, giving more than 100%. She had tremendous impact in expanding awareness of homeopathy through the promotion of accurate public information, dealing with printed and spoken media, and setting  an example for active and clear communication of the merits of homeopathy. Martha was a model for commitment to the interests of the homeopathic community as a whole. VIEW LIST OF PAST WINNERS

This award honors a person who has contributed substantially to the National Center for Homeopathy in a voluntary capacity.

The Winston Award is created in memory of Julian Winston (1941-2005), whose galvanizing vision for classical homeopathy shaped the character, reach, and quality of the National Center for Homeopathy during its formative times. Julian lived his commitment to the highest standards in his work as an author, engineer, designer, publisher, historian, antiquarian, and musician. He brought the same dedication to his passion for homeopathy and the National Center.

Beyond his formal service as a board member, Julian served the NCH Summer School as Registrar from 1981 through 1987 and as Dean from 1988 until 1992. As editor for almost two decades, he developed the NCH Newsletter into Homeopathy Today magazine, positioning NCH for further growth. His energy and vision helped firmly establish NCH as a dependable and inclusive organization that educates and advocates for Hahnemannian homeopathy.  VIEW LIST OF PAST WINNERS

Peter Fisher Memorial Award (established 2019)

This award honors a person who has contributed substantially to homeopathy in the field of research.

This award honors Dr. Fisher who was Director of Research at the Royal London Hospital for Integrated Medicine, Europe’s largest center for integrative medicine. Physician to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Dr. Fisher was also a previous Honorary Consultant Rheumatologist at King’s College Hospital. Dr. Fisher is one of the world leaders in homeopathic research.

A graduate of Cambridge University and a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and the Faculty of Homeopathy, Dr. Fisher was a widely published expert in rheumatology and many forms of complementary and alternative medicine. Dr. Fisher chaired the World Health Organization’s working group on homeopathy and was a member of the WHO’s Expert Advisory Panel on Traditional and Complementary Medicine. He was awarded the Albert Schweitzer Gold Medal of the Polish Academy of Medicine in 2007. He was an international figure in homeopathy who was committed to holistic and compassionate care for his patients. VIEW LIST OF PAST WINNERS

How to Submit a Nomination

During the nomination submission period, a nomination submission link will appear here. The submission period for 2021 award nominations has ended. Please note the following:

  • Self-nominations are allowed
  • Submission requirements
    • Nominee name and credentials
    • Nominee email and phone number
    • Statement about why nominee should receive an award and supporting contribution/service examples
    • Name of nominating person
    • Email and phone number of nominating person

PLEASE NOTE: The Deadline to submit a nomination for the 2021 Awards has passed. Thank you to everyone who participated! The 2022 Nomination Submission will open later this year.