The four medical theses of Samuel Hahnemann (1755-1843)

Lang CJ. The four medical theses of Samuel Hahnemann (1755-1843). J Med Biogr. 2014. [Epub ahead of print].

Samuel Hahnemann, the founder of homoeopathy, over a period of 33 years wrote four medicaltheses at three different universities. The first, in 1779 at the University of Erlangen, Franconia, dealt with agents that allegedly induce spasms, granting him a MD degree. The second two thesesin 1784 dealt with obstetrical matters and were imposed upon him by the University of Wittenberg, Saxony, for becoming a medical officer, a position he apparently aspired to mostly for financial reasons. The fourth thesis in 1812 at the University of Leipzig, Saxony, his most elaborate dissertation on a toxic plant, white hellebore, served as a habilitation, allowing him to hold university lectures in order to disseminate his new ideas.