NCH Homeopathic Service Awards

Do you know someone who has given a tremendous amount to the homeopathic community or to NCH? Then we want to hear from you!

NCH is happy to announce that we are now accepting nominations for the NCH Homeopathic Service Awards!

The four service awards are as follows:

  • The Henry N. Williams Professional Service Award (established 1999)
  • The Martha Oelman Community Service Award (established 1999)
  • The Julian Winston NCH Service Award (established 2015)
  • The Peter Fisher Memorial Award (established 2019)

More details about each award can be found below. Award nominations will be reviewed and winners selected by the NCH Awards Committee. Winners will be announced during JAHC2021 Virtual April 23-25.

How to Submit a Nomination

Nominations should be submitted online HERE

  • Self-nominations are allowed.
  • To prepare you for the online submission process, please be prepared to submit:
    • Nominee’s name and credentials
    • Nominee’s email address and phone number
    • Statement about why nominee should receive the award and examples of contributions/service to support their nomination
    • Name of person making the nomination
    • Email address and phone number of person making the nomination

Questions? Contact us at

The Deadline to Submit is 11:59 PM ET on Monday, March 1, 2021.

Award Category Details and Descriptions

The Henry N. Williams Professional Service Award (established 1999)

The Henry N. Williams Professional Service Award honors a homeopathic professional who has demonstrated service, leadership, and dedication to the homeopathic community. This could be in the form of clinical work, education, research, organizational leadership, or in the political arena.

The name for the award was chosen because Henry N. Williams exemplifies the aforementioned qualities. His wisdom and quiet presence left an indelible mark on homeopathy in this country. Hal Williams was one of the incorporators of the National Center for Homeopathy in 1974 and the Dean of the educational program for the National Center for Homeopathy from 1980 until 1986. After graduating from Columbia University in 1941, he began to learn homeopathy in 1950 at the American Foundation for Homeopathy’s postgraduate course, studying with Elizabeth Wright Hubbard and Julia Minerva Green. Hal was a founder of the Council on Homeopathic Education (now ACHENA, the Accreditation Commission on Homeopathic Education in North America), was active in the American Institute of Homeopathy, and served on the Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia Convention of the U.S. He retired in 1993 after 52 years of active practice in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. VIEW LIST OF PAST WINNERS

The Martha Oelman Community Service Award (established 1999)

This award honors a person who, or organization which, has demonstrated unusual devotion to the practice and promotion of homeopathic treatment in any of these ways:

  • engaging in activities that encourage homeopathic education
  • engaging in activities that encourage homeopathic research
  • showing dedication to the organizations that represent homeopathy nationwide
  • volunteering time and talent
  • using his or her vocational or professional resources for the furtherance of homeopathy
  • cooperating with existing individuals and organizations
  • creating new ways of raising the public’s awareness
  • holding office in homeopathic organizations, either lay or professional.

The award honors the memory of Martha Oelman, a dedicated and skillful advocate for homeopathy who served the community as NCH Media Liaison until her untimely death in 1997. She is remembered for her personal warmth, commitment, dedication and capabilities in all the tasks she undertook. She was thorough, accurate, and reserved, giving more than 100%. She had tremendous impact in expanding awareness of homeopathy through the promotion of accurate public information, her dealings with printed and spoken media, and the example she set for active and clear communication of the merits of homeopathy. She was a model for commitment to the interests of the homeopathic community as a whole. VIEW LIST OF PAST WINNERS

This award honors a person who has contributed substantially to the National Center for Homeopathy in a voluntary capacity.

The Winston Award is created in memory of Julian Winston (1941-2005), whose galvanizing vision for classical homeopathy shaped the character, reach, and quality of the National Center for Homeopathy during its formative times. Julian lived his commitment to the highest standards in his work as an author, engineer, designer, publisher, historian, antiquarian, and musician, and brought the same dedication to his passion for homeopathy and the National Center.

Beyond his formal service as a board member, Julian served the NCH Summer School as Registrar from 1981 through 1987 and as Dean from 1988 until 1992. As editor for almost two decades, he developed the NCH Newsletter into Homeopathy Today Magazine, positioning NCH for further growth. His energy and galvanizing vision helped establish NCH firmly as a dependable and inclusive organization to educate and advocate for Hahnemannian homeopathy.  VIEW LIST OF PAST WINNERS

The Peter Fisher Memorial Award (established 2019)

This award honors a person who has contributed substantially to homeopathy in the field of research.

This award honors Dr. Fisher who was Director of Research at the Royal London Hospital for Integrated Medicine, Europe’s largest center for integrative medicine. He was also Physician to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. He was previously Honorary Consultant Rheumatologist at King’s College Hospital. He was also one of the world leaders in homeopathic research.

A graduate of Cambridge University and a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and the Faculty of Homeopathy, he was a widely published expert in rheumatology and forms of complementary and alternative medicine. Dr. Fisher chaired the World Health Organization’s working group on homeopathy and was a member of WHO’s Expert Advisory Panel on Traditional and Complementary Medicine. He was awarded the Albert Schweitzer Gold Medal of the Polish Academy of Medicine in 2007. Peter was an international figure in homeopathy who was committed to holistic and compassionate care for his patients. In 2019 the recipient of this award was Dr. Iris, MD, PhD.